Is Canadian Metal Ignored? Part 2

                                                               

I realised after I posted last week that I left out another great Canadian band, Triumph. In the early to mid 1980s, this Canadian trio had a string of cool albums and some great singles as well. I reminded myself of this the other day when on one of my walks while listening to my MP3, I had the fortune of hearing the songs “Spellbound” and “A World of Fantasy.” Both of these are killer songs and made Triumph the great metal band they were back in the 80s. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity to see them live, but I know people who have and all of them have said wonderful things about Triumph’s live shows. Made me jealous. Although some magazine rated Triumph second in the category of “Bands who think they’re tough, but they’re not,” Triumph were a brilliant band. (However, I wouldn’t debate Night Ranger being voted number one in that category.)

This brings me to my personal favourite Canadian metal band of all time, The Killer Dwarfs. I first heard them on a heavy metal compilation album called “Metal For Breakfast” on the former label Attic Records. The song on that album, “Heavy Mental Breakdown” was good enough for me to buy the album, although the name of the band was enough for me to check them out more. I’m very glad I did because their first four albums, “Killer Dwarfs,” “Stand Tall,” “Big Deal” and “Dirty Weapons” improved with each new album.Then in 1988, I had the pleasure of seeing them open for Iron Maiden in London. It still perplexes me to this day why they never achieved more success.

Other Canadian bands who deserve a mention are The Jitters who I saw open for Heart in 1988 at Wembley Arena and I was very impressedand I have just recently heard a band called Derailed and can recommend them too. Finally, I had another listen to the Anvil album “This is Thirteen” and I must say that it is even better than I first thought. So please, let’s not boycott Canada.

10 Responses to “Is Canadian Metal Ignored? Part 2”

  1. Again I left out two other good Canadian bands from the 80s, Helix and Honeymoon Suite.

    Like

  2. I have the Triumph album and Hellix, Platnium Blonde, and Honeymoon Suite on cassette. Ah the 80’s such a wonderful time for music, rock culture, and a black concert shirt. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

