An Alert

I am temporarily interrupting my posts on Great Rock Albums of the 70s to alert the metal world of an atrocity. On a site called WODS Radio, which has a page here on WordPress, there is a list of Top 40 Music Acts of the 80s. In the list, there is the likes of Michael Jackson, Boy George, Madonna and Wham along with some who were no more than one hit wonders. What is completely lacking in this list is the absence of metal acts. No mention of great metal icons like Ozzy, Twisted Sister, Dio, Iron Maiden, Anthrax, Metallica, Judas Priest and I could go on forever here but you get my meaning. In fact, the closest they come to metal is Foreigner, U2 and REO Speedwagon.

The whole reason I wrote “Rock And Roll Children” was to combat the ever growing myth presented by coporate music types that the 80s was all Frankie Goes to Hollywood and that heavy metal was something on the fringe listened to by a few weirdoes. They don’t want to remember that the 1980s was a golden age of heavy metal with all the bands already mentioned and many more. It was the decade that gave us glam metal and of course thrash. The record label Combat Records ruled back then.

You may be asking yourself, “Why should I care about if they misportray the 80s?” My answer to that is that it is your metal history that is being erased. Therefore, this is what we should do:

1. Go on the WODS Radio page and comment on this standing up for metal.

2. I admit that I’m being shameless here, but go out and purchase a copy of Rock And Roll Children using the link below. This way you will have physical proof that the 80s was a golden age of heavy metal.

Thank you and keep the metal faith.

to buy Rock And Roll Children go to: www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle

Next post will still be The Sweet- Desolation Boulevard

21 Responses to “An Alert”

  1. Dude, some people just hate metal so much.
    Fuck ’em, more for the rest of us.
    Keep on rockin’ boyo.

    Like

  2. I have not checked in here for a long time simply because I believed it was getting boring, however last few articles are excellent high-quality so I think I will add you back to my every day bloglist. You deserve it my friend :]

    Like

  3. Hiya my friend! I need to say that this post is amazing, pleasant written and include approximately all significant info. I’d want to watch much more articles like this.

    Like

  4. Awesome tips altogether, you basically gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest about your article that you made some days ago? Any great?

    Like

  5. Hey, i think that i saw you visited my blog page so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my website! I suppose it’s fine to use a few of your thinking!

    Like

  6. You could most certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The globe hopes for even more passionate writers just like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

    Like

  7. Hi there, You have done a superb job. I’ll absolutely digg it and personally recommend to my good friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this webpage.

    Like

  8. I have been surfing online over three hours currently, yet I never uncovered any exciting article such as yours. It’s really worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made beneficial articles as you did, the world-wide-web will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  9. Pretty excellent blog post. I just stumbled upon your blog site and wanted to say that I’ve truly liked searching your site articles. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I really hope you write again very soon!

    Like

  10. Nice post. I was checking regularly this website and I’m impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 😀 I care for these kinds of information a lot. I was looking this specific information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

    Like

  11. You seriously make it seem really easy with your presentation however I uncover this matter to be truly something which I believe I’d hardly ever understand. It seems too difficult and really large for me. I’m looking forward for your next write-up.

    Like

  12. In my opinion it’s among the most significant information for me personally. And i am lucky browsing your post. But wanna remark on few typical things, The internet site layout is appropriate, the articles is really exceptional :]. Decent work, adios for now.

    Like

  13. Someone essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is actually the very first time I frequented your internet site and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this valuable post wonderful. Amazing work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

