Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- 2112

I didn’t know much about Rush until I joined the marines in 1979 where a couple of buddies there introduced me to them. It was an introduction that I have been forever grateful for, otherwise, I would never have heard some of the great music that Rush has treated us to for more than three decades, this album being one of them.

2112 has been listed as one of the albums you must listen to before you die. I have listened to it but that was such I long time ago that I think I need to listen to it again and definitely long before I die. I know several die hard Rush fans and a good percentage of them say that this was their greatest album. I’m not sure about that but it does definitely rank up there for me.

What I like about this album is the title track concept 2112. It’s a 20 minute long song which is broken down into several parts. It tells of a future where the planets are ruled by the Red Star of the Solar Federation and bey2112, the world is ruled by the priest of the Temple of Syrinx who dictate everything including music. A man discovers a guitar which gets destroyed and as a result, goes into hiding and ends up committing suicide. A planetary battle begins resulting in an ambiguous ending. However, it is a great case of rock music meeting science fiction and it’s a great listen as is the rest of the album.

Track Listing:

1. 2112

i. Overture

ii. Temple of Syrinx

iii. Presentation

iv. Discovery

v. Oracle: The Dreamer

vi. Sililoquy

vii. Grand Finale

2. Passage to Bankok

3. Twilight Zone

4. Lessons

5. Tears

6. Something for Nothing

Rush

Geddy Lee- bass, vocals, synthesiser

Alex Liefson- guitars

Neil Peart- drums, percussion

As far as concept albums go, this is one of the best. There are some great moments on 2112 and I can see why some call it their best.

Next Post: Rush- Farewell to Kings

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Froogle and Barnes & Noble

 

8 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- 2112”

  1. Yes Mike, a truly amazing album. Not my favourite Rush album (you are reviewing it next) but up in my top five.
    As you know I’m quite into Rush and this one of those pieces of music that deserves a dark room, headphones and a very comfortable floor.
    Five stars.

    Like

    • I remember that you were a big Rush fan so I’m glad that my review does the album justice in your eyes. I know what you mean about the dark room and comfy floor. It may also help to be puffing the magic dragon as well.

      Like

  2. Have to say that 2112 IS the best Rush album for me………..truly AMAZING music from an amazingly talented trio of musicians!!!!!! 2112 Roolz!!!!!!!lol xxxxx

    Like

  3. Hello. {Great|fantastic|splendid|impressive|magnificent|excellent|remarkable} job. I did not {expect|imagine|anticipate} this. This is a {great|fantastic|splendid|impressive|excellent|remarkable} story. Thanks!…

    You completed some nice points there. I did a search on the matter and found mainly people will have the same opinion with your blog….

    Like

  4. Nice Post…

    I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!……

    Like

Leave a Reply

