Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- Farewell to Kings

It is said that it is difficult to follow up on a great album, however, the “Farewell to Kings” album from Rush does exactly that. Following on from 2112, this album proves to be the next step which would eventually lead to the band’s domination of rock in the late 70s to early 80s.

For me, “Farewell to Kings” proves the band’s versatility. I immediately start headbanging away to the title track and then get caught up in the eleven minute long “Xanadu” where I just want to sit down with a beer and just get into the vibe. Far from being an album of long concept songs, the second side hits you with some short sharp songs starting with the classic “Closer to the Heart” before finishing up with another 10 minute long track that just gets you to wind down. From start to finish, this album is a real gem.

Track Listing

1. Farewell to Kings

2. Xanadu

3. Closer to the Heart

4. Cinderella Man

5. Madrigal

6. Cygnus X- 1 Book 1- The Voyage

Rush:

Geddy Lee- voclas, bass, 12 string guitar, mini moog, bass pedal synthesiser

Alex Liefson- guitars- bass pedal synthesiser

Neil Peart- drums, percussion

Rush fans have been debating for three and a half decades which is the better album between “2112” and “Farewell to Kings” and this argument will probably go on for three and a half decades more. These are both truly great albums.

Next post: Ted Nugent- Cat Scratch Fever

To buy Rock and Roll Children, go to www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle

 

12 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- Farewell to Kings”

  1. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

    Like

  2. As you may well know this is my favourite album by my all-time favourite band.
    I would even say the best album by the best band to ever exist.
    Why? A band that pushed themselves to produce music that no other band could possibly come close to. Always progressing, trying to sound different, bringing all they know to a soundscape that will excite and enthrall an audience to try and except and experience music as an exciting and involving fabric of our existance.
    Cheers Mike, this is a record that I will always love and enjoy.
    Thanks for keeping it out there.

    Like

    • Thanks John, I’m glad that I was able to do Rush justice on here. You’re right, they are one band which has never been duplicated (Let’s see Stock Aikman and Waterman try to create that generic sound using them). More Rush albums will be posted on here in the future. On another note, did you see my posting on your facebook wall? If you email me, I will send you a list of songs for Rock And Roll Children the CD. All you have to do is post a review of the book on Amazon.

      Like

  3. Now this was an album I knew before I knew Mike…… I haven’t heard it for years….. must remedy that.
    Great reminder Mike.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- Farewell to Kings 80smetalman's Blog with us keep update bro love your article about Great Rock Albums of the 70s: Rush- Farewell to Kings 80smetalman's Blog .

    Like

  5. Another very entertaining post. Ive been reading through some of your posts and finally decided to drop a comment on this one. Please feel free to visit my site Hair Colorant

    Like

  6. Just to let you know, this content looks a little bit strange from my smart phone. Who knows maybe it is just my cell phone. Great article by the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

