Great Rock Albums of 1978: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers- You’re Gona Get It

The second album from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers got my attention back then. I must admit, that I never even knew they had put out an album prior to “You’re Gonna Get It” until I did some preliminary research. Some have said that the first album was musically superior to the second. If that’s the case, then it must be a really good album. Still, I curse the sheltered life I lived back then, but that’s another story.

Like any new music back in 1978, many people called Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers a punk band. That’s just the ignorance of some people, because when I listened to some of the tracks, I was convinced they were not. “You’re Gonna Get It” is a good rock album that has some good bits with both guitar and organ used in a combination that works on so many levels. It’s just a well made feel good album.

Track Listing:

1. When the Time Comes

2. You’re Gonna Get It

3. Hurt

4. Magnolia

5. Too Much Ain’t Enough

6. I Need to Know

7. Listen to Her Heart

8. No Second Thought

9. Restless

10. Baby’s a Rock’n Roller

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Tom Petty- lead vocals, guitar, piano

Mike Campbell- lead guitar, accordion

Bermont Tench- piano, organ, vocals

Ron Blair- bass, accoustic guitar

Stan Lynch- drums, vocals

For me this album was the start for Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. Although, I haven’t always liked everything they’ve done since, I can say that I really like this album.

Next Post: The first movie soundtrack I liked, The Last Waltz

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Froogle and Barnes & Noble

 

 

8 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of 1978: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers- You’re Gona Get It”

  1. Hey Mike, when I first heard this album I didn’t think that much of it. Still don’t really. But the first album on the other hand is well worth a listen. Great tracks: Luna; Breakdown; Won’t get fooled again. And the sublime American Girl. Lots of jingly jangly Byrds-type guitars, very cool bass playing and…….Hammond organ.
    And he still played his Flying V.
    Share the love.

    Like

  2. Metal Odyssey Says:

    Those people that “thought” Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were a Punk band back then are the same “secret people” who vote for the inductions for The Rock And Roll Hall Of Shame. LOL!!

    Oh… legendary band and Tom Petty is without a doubt one-of-a-kind. \m/

    Like

  3. Very intreresting post. It was very relavant. I was searching exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such interesting posts.

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

Leave a Reply

