Great Rock Albums of 1978: Jethro Tull- Heavy Horses

I realise and apologise for the fact that I should have included at least one of the classic albums from the great band that is Jethro Tull in the previous category of Great Rock Albums of the 70s. My favourite of these has always been the album “Too Old to Rock and Roll: Too Young to Die.” I used to hear this album advertised all the time when my antique radio was able to tune into the Philadelphia stations and I got to listen to some of the tracks.

Which brings me to this album, “Heavy Horses.” I must admit that I haven’t heard this album in a long time, but praise the Lord for YouTube. Listening to such tracks as “And the Mouse Police Never Sleeps.” “Weathercock” and “Heavy Horses” reminded me of the crisp progressive sound that has endeared so many to Jethro Tull. It also had me thinking about going and puffing the magic dragon as that was another thing I remember this album for. But I couldn’t do that as I was still at work.

Track Listing:

1. And the Mouse Police Never Sleeps

2. Acres Wild

3. No Lullaby

4. Moths

5. Journeyman

6. Rover

7. One Brown Mouse

8. Heavy Horses

9. Weathercock 

Jethro Tull

Ian Anderson- vocals, flute, accoustic guitar, mandolin, whistles

Martin Barrie- electric guitar

Barrimore Barlow- drums, percussion

John Evan- piano, organ

David Palmer- keyboards, pipe organ

John Glascock- bass

Guest Musician: Darryl Way- violin on Acres Wild and Heavy Horses

Heavy Horses reminded me of why I like Jethro Tull in the first place. Few back in the 70s did progressive rock better than they.

Next post: Boston- Don’t Look Back

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle and on sale at Foyles Book Shop in London

8 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of 1978: Jethro Tull- Heavy Horses”

  1. Metal Odyssey Says:

    Yet another band snubbed by The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. Oops… I mean, Shame.

    I never owned this Jethro Tull album… (!) Gonna have to get it now. 🙂

    Like

    • This was a case of “I knew they put out an album in 1978, but what was it called.” Thank God for You Tube and you won’t regret buying this album. Here, here to them being yet another great band snubbed by the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame.

      Like

      • Metal Odyssey Says:

        Yup, I wil admit, that Youtube is a goldmine for Rock ‘N Roll and Metal research. It’s a fantastic platform to use when “thinking about” purchasing “that particular” album. Gee… I sound like a commercial for Youtube! LOL!

        Like

      • Maybe YouTube should pay us advertising royalties. It has not only helped me with my research, but as you say, is a good platform when buying that particular album. If I had youtube in 1983, I never would have bought one particular album because I liked a song from it. The album, I’m afraid you’ll have to wait til I get to 83.

        Like

  2. Great article. I will be going through a few of these issues as well..

    Like

  3. The title track is one of the best songs ever written in my opinion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

