Hell’s Bells and Hellrazor Rock Stroud!

The reason why I brought my visit to AC/DC’s “Highway to Hell” album so far forward was on account of last night when I saw AC/DC tribute band Hell’s Bells at The Subscription Rooms in my hometown of Stroud. Originally, I was going to mention the gig when I visited Ted Nugent’s “State of Shock” album but I concluded that it wouldn’t be fair to Ted Nugent or Hell’s Bells. So I thought it only proper to give Hell’s Bells their own slot.

Hellrazor

Hellrazor

The show began with the alter ego of Hell’s Bells, Hellrazor. It doesn’t take a genius to see that this was none other than the main act in another form. At least it explained why a keyboard was on stage before the show. Hellrazor performed some great covers including “My Generation,” “Highway Star” and the first time I ever heard it covered and it’s been 36 years since the song was first broadcast, a very good cover of “Carry On My Wayward Son.” The final song was none other than “Rock And Roll” by Led Zeppelin. Their set might have been a little short, but it provided a great warm up for better things to come.

Hell's Bells

Hell’s Bells

Hell’s Bells came out in full glory performing all the songs that made AC/DC famous. Once again, they were note perfect in regards of the Gods they were paying tribute to and this time, the lead singer was much more consistent in sounding like Bon Scott and at times, Brian Johnson. Of course, there were also some of the stage antics that made AC/DC famous like Angus Young’s striptease and consequent mooning of the audience. I did try to photograph that but it came out a blur. They promised to have the cannon similar to what AC/DC use for their giant hit, “For Those About to Rock, We Salute You.” While there was no physical cannon, they did use sound effects from a laptop for the cannon blasts. It still worked as they had the packed house on their feet and yelling in praise, me included.

Lead singer carrying lead guitarist around on his shoulders

Lead singer carrying lead guitarist around on his shoulders

That was what the photo was supposed to be anyway. But the blurred photo doesn’t do justice to what a cool show it was and the fact that I was able to grab an AC/DC dollar bill when they were thrown out to the crowd. Even though, they played the famous songs, there were still many different tunes from their previous visit nine months ago. Hell’s Bells provided a great night of AC/DC fun and I was glad I was there. I’ll probably go when they come back in the Autumn.

FFI http://www.hellsbells.info

Next post will definitely be Ted Nugent- State of Shock

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to http://www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle and on sale at Foyles Book Shop in London.

7 Responses to “Hell’s Bells and Hellrazor Rock Stroud!”

  1. Sounds like a great show! I for one am fine with not getting a picture of the guitar player’s bum bum 🙂

    AC/DC are a tricky band to cover when you think about it. Not only do you have the recognizable voices (TWO of them) but they also groove like nobody’s business. Nothing worse than hearing a bad band cover AC/DC!

    Like

    • You’re right, I have heard the odd AC/DC song covered badly and it’s not good. I think some of my female followers would have liked the photo of the lead guitarist. I don’t think there’s a person on the planet who could successfully cover both Bon Scott and Brian Johnson.

      Like

  2. Nothing beats a grand evening of ‘live’ heavy Rock ‘N’ Roll! Thanks for sharing… and long live AC/DC and Hell’s Bells \m/\m/

    Like

Leave a Reply

