Great Rock Albums of 1980: Bob Dylan- Saved

220px-Bob_Dylan_-_Saved

“Saved” was Bob Dylan’s second album after his conversion to Born Again Christianity and like his previous album “Slow Train Coming,” he uses his music to express his beliefs. I never had a problem with this but then I used to listen to Stryper and Merciful Fate in conjunction with each other calling it my heaven and hell moments. Unfortunately, a lot of people did as I remember reading letters to rock magazines stating that Dylan should keep his religious beliefs out of his music. Then again, I sometimes wonder how people could say that in the first place because I found that Dylan seemed to mumble a lot through these songs so you couldn’t always tell whether or not he was singing about Jesus.

Many of the songs on here have a perky, uplifting gospel rock feel to it. It didn’t convert me but I did like many of the songs irrespective of the subject sung about. The title track “Saved” is definitely the stand out for me on this album. “Covenant Woman” is also rather a strong track. The rest of the album is more of a relaxed sound and it’s got me thinking about Pink Floyd now because I would use this album to mellow out like I do with Floyd and the content on the album would not stop me from puffing the magic dragon.

Track Listing:

1. A Satisfied Mind

2. Saved

3. Covenant Woman

4. What Can I Do For You

5. Solid Rock

6. Pressing On

7. In The Garden

8. Saving Grace

9. Are You Ready

Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan- vocals, guitar, harmonica

Tim Drummond- bass

John Keltner- drums

Spooner Oldham- keyboards

Fred Tackett- guitar

Terry Young- keyboards, backing vocals

Carolyn Dennis- backing vocals

Regina Havis- backing vocals

Clydie King- backing vocals

Monalisa Young- backing vocals

Whether you are religious or not, this is still an album worth listening to, something to mellow out with. Bob Dylan’s future albums would steer away from religion but that’s another story. However, I remain convinced that it was these two Dylan albums that paved the way for Christian rock and that if it wasn’t for Dylan, than we might not have had Stryper.

Next post: George Thorogood and the Destroyers- More George Thorogood and the Destroyers

To buy Rock and Roll Children, go to www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle and on sale at Foyles Book Shop in London

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of 1980: Bob Dylan- Saved”

  1. I love this review. During Dylan’s “born again” phase, when I was in my early teens, he was considered a has-been & those were albums to avoid at all costs. It wasn’t until I was in my 20s & expanding my Dylan collection that I got them and couldn’t believe how much better they were than expected. I would probably rate my favorites in order of release, but even “Shot Of Love” has a lot of good material. One of my favorite Dylan albums, “Infidels” (which was his first “secular” album after this era) featured a lot of religious imagery but it was less specific than anything from the previous three.

    I would never have made a Floyd connection, but will definitely keep that in mind next time I give this a spin.

    Like

    • Thank you. I only made the connection with Floyd because of its mellow out effect. I always thought these albums were good and never paid attention to people who complained because of the religious content. Although Hard Rain and Desire are still my favourite Dylan albums and Blood on the Tracks is up there as well, this is still a good album.

      Like

Leave a Reply

