Great Metal Albums of 1980: Sammy Hagar- Danger Zone

220px-SammyHagarDangerZone

At first, I wasn’t sure if I should put this album into the metal category as many out there don’t classify Sammy Hagar has heavy metal. Then again, I never gave two stuffs about silly arguments over what should be categorised where. Besides, the first song I ever heard from the “Red Rocker” had the same title as the genre of music I love so much. It was on a soundtrack from a film of the very same name which I will be visiting when I get to 1981.

So onto this album “Danger Zone.” Listening to it only confirms to me that it should be called a metal album as there are some serious rocking tunes on it. “Mommy Says, Daddy Says,” “20th Century Man,” “Love or Money” and “Bad Reputation” are all great melodic metal tunes that stand the test of time. Even the bluesy “The Ice Man” where Journey singer Steve Perry provides the backing vocals is a cooker. There is some great crunching guitar sounds on this album and another Journey member in the form of Neil Schon lays down some killer solos on “Love or Money.” I get the impression that Hagar is still hungry on this album and it definitely shows in the music.

Track Listing:

1. Love or Money

2. 20th Century Man

3. Miles For Boredom

4. Mommy Says, Daddy Says

5. In The Night, (Entering the Danger Zone)

6. The Iceman

7. Bad Reputation

8. Heartbeat

9. Run For Your Life

10. Danger Zone

Sammy Hagar

Sammy Hagar

 

Sammy Hagar- vocals, guitar

Bill Church- bass

Gary Pihl- guitar, keyboards

Chuck Ruff- drums

Geoff Workman- keyboards

Guest Musicians

Steve Perry- backing vocals

Neil Schon- guitar solos on “Love or Money”

In 1980, Sammy Hagar was still making his way in the rock world. Kick ass albums like “Danger Zone” paved the way to the greatness he would eventually achieve.

Next post: Motorhead- Ace of Spades

To buy Rock and Roll Children, go to http://www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/RockAndRollChildren.html

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle

12 Responses to “Great Metal Albums of 1980: Sammy Hagar- Danger Zone”

  1. I don’t have this album, but I have most of the songs on various compilations. I love Run For Your Life! Incredible song and Steve Perry is great on it.

    I’m not a fan of Iceman though.

    Like

  2. Never really got into his stuff much but no doubting his enormous talent as a vocalist… not too shabby on the axe either… loved what he did with Van Halen. Must check this album out now

    Like

  3. I like a lot of Sammy’s stuff with the Waboritas but I’m not that familiar with his pre-VH solo stuff. I see this on vinyl a lot in my local shops so I’ll need to check it out.

    Like

  4. Keep picking those Rockin’ GEMS, 80’s Metal Man! Whoa.

    Sammy Hagar is such a LEGEND. My first Red Rocker album (on vinyl) was “Standing Hampton”… I have it on CD now. That’s some good advice from Mike, btw. 🙂 \m/\m/

    Like

Leave a Reply

