Great Rock Albums of 1986: Stevie Ray Vaughan- Live Alive


If I hadn’t met a friend in Britain who was a huge Stevie Ray Vaughan fan, then his live album, “Live, Alive” would most likely have passed me by. Fortunately, it didn’t and I got to hear what Stevie was capable of live and then regretted not seeing the man in person.

Some critics at the time slated the album. A few said that Stevie’s playing was uneven down to his drug abuse issues at the time. Well, his playing all sounds pretty darn even to me. He just cooks every song. The other criticism was the fact that there are so many covers on the album. That maybe true but he was simply paying tribute to all of the great artists who influenced him. He pays tribute to Howlin’ Wolf, Stevie Wonder and Jimi Hendrix as well as others and he does it with style. I’m sure that the artists whose songs he covers would be proud of the efforts he put into those songs.

Whether it be an original or a cover, Stevie makes each and every song his own. I enjoy his guitar solos on each and every one of them. So much so, that I’ve found it quite hard to pick a favourite. If I have to, it must be “Mary Had a Little Lamb” just because he made a nursery rhyme into a solid blues rock song and made it sound absolutely fantastic, especially with all the cool guitar soloing between the verses. “Willie the Wimp” comes a close second though.

Although Stevie Ray Vaughan deserves all the praise I’ve given him so far, one mustn’t forget the rest of his Double Trouble band. Reese Wynan’s piano solo on “Pride and Joy” is particularly noteworthy. Full marks must also be given to his rhythm section. They keep up with him throughout the entire album.

Track Listing:

  1. Say What!
  2. Ain’t Gone ‘n’ Give Up On Love
  3. Pride and Joy
  4. Mary Had a Little Lamb
  5. Superstition
  6. I’m Leaving You (Commit a Crime)
  7. Cold Shot
  8. Willie the Wimp
  9. Look at Little Sister
  10. Texas Flood
  11. Voodoo Child
  12. Love Struck Baby
  13. Change It
  14. Life Without You

Stevie Ray Vaughan

Stevie Ray Vaughan- guitar and vocals

Tommy Shannon- bass

Chris ‘Whipper’ Layton- drums

Reese Wynans- keyboards

I’m glad this album didn’t pass me by in 1986. Otherwise, I would have missed some great blues guitar rock compliments of one Stevie Ray Vaughan. After all, this is a great album to chill out with a beer or three to.

Next post: Stevie Nicks- Rock a Little

It seems all online outlets state that Rock and Roll Children is currently out of stock as the free download site.


































































4 Responses to “Great Rock Albums of 1986: Stevie Ray Vaughan- Live Alive”

  1. I bought this years ago on cassette tape for the walkman. It’s a pretty decent listen. Check out SRV’s deluxe of Couldn’t Stand The Weather. There’s a fantastic live show included from Montreal as an added bonus. SRV’s version of Voodoo Child is a mind-blower. Well, actually the whole live show is a mind blower!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know this one at all. I had picked up the 4 studio albums a couple of years ago after seeing that Foo Fighters show. I picked up the deluxe Couldn’t Stand the Weather and I have another live set (Spectrum?)… all great stuff, so I’ll need to check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: