To Tie You Over

CDKBY4 Mar. 15, 2011 – Baton Rouge, LA, USA – Television evangelist Jimmy Swaggart breaks down in tears on televised sermon as he confesses his relationship with a prostitute. 1988 photo (Credit Image: © Robin Nelson/ZUMAPRESS.com)

Due to reasons beyond my control, I am unable to post the next album, “Imaginos” by Blue Oyster Cult, on the tour through the golden decade of heavy metal. I was in a car accident the other night. Don’t worry, I’m fine although Mrs 80smetalman is still quite shaken up. Actually, what happened is one of those believe or not occurrences. See, our car was hit by a mobility scooter. The scooter actually hit us! I saw the scooter about to go on the road so I stopped but the scooter kept going straight into us. It hit us at some speed because the driver fell off immediately. He was taken to hospital and was also arrested for drunk driving. So, it was totally not our fault.

A side result of this is that I haven’t been able to properly listen to the album. So what I will do is put two songs which would have gone great on my “Downfall of the Holy Man” post where Jimmy Swaggart gets his comeuppance. Both of these songs rip on television evangelists, Metallica’s “Leper Messiah” came out two years before Swaggart’s downfall and Iron Maiden’s “Holy Smoke” came two years after. Still, both songs are correct in their message. Furthermore, I consider both of these songs hidden gems from each band. So, sit back, have a listen and laugh and I’ll be back with B.O.C. soon.

To buy Rock and Roll Children, email me at: tobychainsaw@hotmail.com

Even more reason to sign the petition to give Bruce Dickinson a knighthood. https://www.change.org/p/special-honours-committees-for-knighthoods-a-knighthood-for-bruce-dickinson?redirect=false

23 Responses to “To Tie You Over”

  1. Dude, so sorry to hear this. That has to be very shocking and horrifying. I don’t know anyone else who has been hit by a scooter!

    Fortunately this community is the best for support so if you ever need any, we are all here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you’re doing OK. The last car accident I was in involved a car slowly driving into us while we were stationary in a turning lane. It all happened slowly and was quite surreal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Man, that is awful. Hit by a drunk on a scooter is crazy. Hopefully the Mrs. will be okay soon and glad to hear you are fine.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Omg, I’m so sorry to hear about your accident! I hope both you and your wife make a speedy recovery! Drunk drivers are the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So glad everyone is okay. That’s such a bizarre accident and must have been scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry, only just seen this. Hope you’re both okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sorry to hear about your car 🚘 accident and wow the accident caused by drunk driving. I am glad you are okay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.