Archive for live albums

Great Metal Albums of 1981: Iron Maiden- Killers

Posted in 1980s, Heavy Metal, Heavy Metal and the 1980s, Music, Rock, Uncategorized with tags , , , , , , , , , on September 4, 2014 by 80smetalman


As I reminisce about the great music that came out in 1981, I realise that I haven’t really been giving full accolades to what a great year it was musically. 1981 was great for twofold reasons. First, many of the established superstars came out with some great albums but also some of the more up and coming acts also let themselves be known in that year. One of the latter was definitely Iron Maiden. While I had heard of them in 1981, it wouldn’t be until the following year before I had actually heard them and I can’t remember which song it was but I know I liked it. I would eventually listen to and like their second album, “Killers.”

This album plays a major role in getting Iron Maiden the notice on the metal stage that would eventually propel them into the ionosphere of superstardom. There would be adjustments made in the future, especially in the area of lead singer. I’m not going into the Di’Anno/Dickinson debate but I will venture this: Listening to the track “Wrathchild” on the album and the live version on “Live After Death,” I prefer Bruce Dickinson’s voice as far as Iron Maiden goes. However, I don’t think that Bruce’s voice would be better suited on the next track “Murders in the Rue Morgue.” But enough of that, “Killers” is still a fine album from Iron Maiden.

The tracks already mentioned are good ones and I love the guitars at the intro of “Another Life.” “Innocent Exile,” another great track, is more like the trademark sound of Iron Maiden and the title track follows nicely after. The two instrumentals on the album, “Ides of March” and “Genghis Khan” are also very well done. However, as the album closes with the remaining tracks, the one that definitely sticks out for me is “Prodigal Son.” The slow acoustic intro grabs your attention and just when you think the song is going to be Iron Maiden’s token ballad, it surprises you by going harder once again proving that the guitar combination of Smith and Murray deserves to be up there with many of the best combos of dual guitarists.

Track Listing:

1. Ides of March

2. Wrathchild

3. Murders in the Rue Morgue

4. Another Life

5. Genghis Khan

6. Innocent Exile

7. Killers

8. Prodigal Son

9. Purgatory

10. Drifter

Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden

Paul Di’Anno- vocals

Steve Harris- bass

Dave Murray- guitars

Adrian Smith- guitars

Clive Burr- drums

Iron Maiden may not have been a household name in 1981 but their album “Killers” makes a clear statement as to why they would become one. You can feel their hunger on the album and know full well that they would be a force for good in the world of heavy metal.

Next post: Rainbow- Difficult to Cure

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to:

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle and on sale at Foyles Book Shop in London

Great Rock Albums of 1981: Fleetwood Mac- Live

Posted in 1980s, Concerts, Music, Rock, video games with tags , , , , , , , , , on December 26, 2013 by 80smetalman


First of all, I hope all of you had a Merry Christmas and got all of the things you wanted and the same goes for any who don’t celebrate it. I did get the Black Sabbath “13” album and am looking for an excuse to go out in the car so I can play it. Also, I might have gotten another CD from my daughter but I won’t see her until Sunday.

Fleetwood Mac has always been one of those intriguing, controversial bands who put out some great albums in the 1970s and 80s. Most everyone knows of their best known “Rumours” album and a good many can say the same for the follow up “Tusk” album. Both are great albums and probably one of the reasons they put out a live album on the wake of the previous two. Much of the material from the mentioned studio albums is to be found on “Live” and for good reason. Those albums gave us so many great classic songs. For me, however, and this will be an ongoing theme for me throughout the tour of 1981, it had some personal meaning in my own life at the time. One of my comrades in arms bought this album at the PX in Rota, Spain just before we sailed back to the USA. It got played a lot on the voyage home and it was this album that made the trip home a lot easier.

Fleetwood Mac “Live” not only had great musical  memories, it also gave me one small regret and hearing again after so many years brought it back. That regret is the fact that I never saw them live. Listening to this album, I can safely say that it would have been totally awesome to see Fleetwood Mac in concert. Not just the great songs on it, but the energy they put behind each of the songs they play.  I have always said the Lindsey Buckingham does not get the respect he deserves as a guitarist, his efforts on the live album are proof of that. I mean, the man can play. Of course, the rest of the band are all very good on the album.

While, the album is heavy laden with songs from “Rumours” and “Tusk,” there are some classic gems from Fleetwood Mac’s past that pop up on the album too. I absolutely love the live version of “Rhiannon” and “Landslide” is nicely done as well. Then there is the live version of my all time favourite Mac song, “Go Your Own Way.” If there is a heavy metal cover of this song anywhere, someone please let me know because I would love to hear it. This song would sound fantastic if it was metallised. Saying that, if I have to pick out one personal disappointment about “Live,” it’s the absence of “The Chain” on it. I would have loved to have heard John McVie play my all time favourite bass line live. By way, I have heard Shark Island’s cover of said song and it is done well.

Track Listing:

1. Monday Morning

2. Say You Love Me

3. Dreams

4. Oh Well

5. Over and Over

6. Not That Funny

7. Sarah

8. Never Going Back Again

9. Landslide

10. Fireflies

11. Over My Head

12. Rhiannon

13. Don’t Let Me Down Again

14. One More Night

15. Go Your Own Way

16. Don’t Stop

17. I’m So Afraid

18. The Farmer’s Daughter

Fleetwood Mac

Fleetwood Mac

Lindsey Buckingham- guitars, vocals

Stevie Nicks- vocals

Christine McVie- keyboards, vocals

John McVie- bass

Mick Fleetwood- drums, percussion

My fellow music blogger Every Record Tells a Story recently posted his view of the top ten double live albums. This album wasn’t mentioned. I’m not saying that it should be in the top ten of any double live album list, especially against the albums ERTaS lists. However, this album is worth a definite mention as a great double live album. For me, it will forever be the closest I ever get to seeing Fleetwood Mac live.

Next post: REO Speedwagon- Hi Infidelity

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to

Also available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Froogle and on sale at Foyles Book Shop in London