Archive for You’re Gonna Get It

Great Rock Albums of 1978: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers- You’re Gona Get It

Posted in 1980s, Music with tags , , , , , , on January 14, 2012 by 80smetalman

The second album from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers got my attention back then. I must admit, that I never even knew they had put out an album prior to “You’re Gonna Get It” until I did some preliminary research. Some have said that the first album was musically superior to the second. If that’s the case, then it must be a really good album. Still, I curse the sheltered life I lived back then, but that’s another story.

Like any new music back in 1978, many people called Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers a punk band. That’s just the ignorance of some people, because when I listened to some of the tracks, I was convinced they were not. “You’re Gonna Get It” is a good rock album that has some good bits with both guitar and organ used in a combination that works on so many levels. It’s just a well made feel good album.

Track Listing:

1. When the Time Comes

2. You’re Gonna Get It

3. Hurt

4. Magnolia

5. Too Much Ain’t Enough

6. I Need to Know

7. Listen to Her Heart

8. No Second Thought

9. Restless

10. Baby’s a Rock’n Roller

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Tom Petty- lead vocals, guitar, piano

Mike Campbell- lead guitar, accordion

Bermont Tench- piano, organ, vocals

Ron Blair- bass, accoustic guitar

Stan Lynch- drums, vocals

For me this album was the start for Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. Although, I haven’t always liked everything they’ve done since, I can say that I really like this album.

Next Post: The first movie soundtrack I liked, The Last Waltz

To buy Rock And Roll Children, go to

Also available on Amazon, Froogle and Barnes & Noble