Great Metal Albums of 1985: Hanoi Rocks- Rock and Roll Divorce


“Rock And Roll Divorce” from Hanoi Rocks has been called the sound of a great band falling apart. Even back then, it was plain to see that this great band was on its way out following the tragic death of drummer Razzle and the departure of bassist Sam Yaffa. Furthermore, singer Michael Monroe was planning to leave the band but agreed to do a small tour if a live album wasn’t released. Therefore, this live album from them was only a half official release whatever that means. Still, I do remember seeing it in my local record store in 1985 and picking it up.

Having seen Hanoi Rocks just a few weeks before the tragedy which would lead to their demise struck, I can say that one should not judge their live performance on this record. Apparently, their manager as since stated that “Rock And Roll Divorce” was an awful record that never should have been released. While I can say that my experience of when I saw them live shows they were more capable than what this live album shows, I still don’t think the album is that bad.

The album was recorded from several shows played in then Communist Poland and was referred to as the “Solidarity Tapes” and was supposedly put together for the amusement of the band. I find the album quite amusing as well. They play many of their greatest hits, “Back to Mystery City,” “Boulevard of Broken Dreams,” the ballad “Don’t You Ever Leave Me” and my all time favourite Hanoi Rocks song, “Tragedy.” Is that a metaphor for this album? I can’t say. Saying that, I was never impressed with their performance of the CCR classic “Up Around the Bend” on this live album. I’ve heard them do it much better. On the other hand, “Malibu Beach” was done well though I think it might have been a better track to open the album, but that’s just me. “Million Miles Away” is also done quite well.

It seems that Hanoi Rocks, at least Michael Monroe anyway, was simply going through the motions here. There is some good musicianship and there are parts on the album that proves my supposition that Monroe is a very underrated front man, he can get a crowd going. There seems to be things lacking with “Rock and Roll Divorce” and while I enjoy listening to it, the teacher in me keeps thinking that they could have done better.

Track Listing:

  1. Two Steps From the Move
  2. Back to Mystery City
  3. Boulevard of Broken Dreams
  4. Don’t You Ever Leave Me
  5. Tragedy
  6. Malibu Beach
  7. Million Miles Away
  8. Taxi Driver
  9. Up Around the Bend
  10. I Feel All Right
  11. Rock and Roll
  12. Looking At You


Hanoi Rocks

Michael Monroe- vocals

Andy McCoy- guitar

Nasty Suicide- guitar

Rene Berg- bass

Terry Chimes- drums

Note: This live version of “Tragedy” isn’t from the album but since Youtube doesn’t have it, I thought I’d put this version on

Here’s one from Rock and Roll Divorce:

Was “Rock And Roll Divorce” the final death throes of a dying beast, an anti climax from what was a great band or just a way for them to go out on a high? History hasn’t been kind to this album and I can sometimes see why but I can also see the good things about it.

Next post: UFO- Misdemeanor

To download Rock and Roll Children, go to: 
















5 Responses to “Great Metal Albums of 1985: Hanoi Rocks- Rock and Roll Divorce”

  1. Would loved to have seen Hanoi live. Apologies because I think I might have already mentioned on a aprevious HR post of yours that my old band supported Nasty Suicide’s Cheap and Nasty band back in 91/92. I got to meet him and say hi, but that was about the most of it. It was rather a quick night with 3 bands on the bill for about 2 and a half hours. If I’m honest, I’m still buzzing a bit that we got to support them, as I loved HR back then.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Source: Great Metal Albums of 1985: Hanoi Rocks- Rock and Roll Divorce | 80smetalman’s Blog […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: