Archive for April 12, 2024

Some Historical Points I Missed

Posted in 1980s, Heavy Metal, Heavy Metal and the 1980s, Music, Rock, Uncategorized with tags , , , , , , , , , , on April 12, 2024 by 80smetalman
Tipper Gore

Part of me thinks I should be shot. After all, it was the second biggest musical event if 1985, Live Aid being the biggest. I mean, in my recent post of historical events mentioned in “Rock and Roll Children,” I missed this out. In fact, back during the tour of 1985, I wrote an entire post about it. I’m talking about the dreaded Parents Music Resource Center, (PMRC), who wanted to stick warning labels on all the records. It resulted in a Congressional hearing where Dee Snider, John Denver and Frank Zappa testified. It was big news back then. To read the post:

The perceived censorship of music was a big fear for the main characters in “Rock and Roll Children.” One character stated that America was heading towards a Nazi police state. On the other hand, when a DJ stated what he thought of the PMRC hearing, the answer was a load of bodily functions coming through the radio.

On the subject of radio, back in the 1980s, and almost every Saturday night at midnight, the characters would all gather around the radio to listen to a programme called “Metal Shop.” Living in the Philadelphia area at the time, the show was on WYSP and was hosted by Mean Ed Green. I have since discovered that many stations around the country had their own metal shops.

Dr. Ruth Westheimer

By 1985, except for a few stations, commercial radio totally sucked. The Atlantic City station was called Rock 104 but it should have been renamed Top 40-104. The best stations were in Philadelphia. Anyway, when there was no decent music on the radio, we could tune in an listen to Dr. Ruth. She was a top therapist on sex and was full of great advice, although the Jeff character makes the wise crack that his sister won’t be calling Dr. Ruth saying she doesn’t orgasm.

Hopefully, you now have the full version of historical events mentioned in “Rock and Roll Children.” Knowing me, I probably will be back with more I missed.

Next post: Vow Wow- Helter Skelter

To buy Rock and Roll Children, email me at: tobychainsaw@hotmail.com

To sign the petition giving Bruce Dickinson a knighthood, click the link: https://www.change.org/p/special-honours-committees-for-knighthoods-a-knighthood-for-bruce-dickinson