Twelve Days of Christmas

My provisions for Christmas

Christmas is nearly upon us and as you can see from above, I’m ready for the festivities with my barrel of The Trooper and my bottles of Motorhead pale ale. I’ll be having a heavy metal Christmas! Reading other posts about Christmas, I have to agree with the premise that there are a lot of versions of the classic carol, “The Twelve Days of Christmas. So, I thought it would be cool to share some of those versions I like the most with all of you. After all, Christmas is the time for giving.

Starting with my favourite, I have to agree with my Canadian friends that the version by The McKenzie Brothers has to be the best in my humble opinion.

Being a big Twisted Sister fan, it would be an act of sacrilege not to include their version from their “Twisted Christmas” album. It’s my second favourite. I do like the way all the band contribute to the gifts mentioned.

If “Twisted Christmas” is my favourite Christmas album, my second fave is “I am Santa Claus” by Bob Rivers and Twisted Radio. This version, “The Twelve Pains of Christmas” doesn’t appear on the album but it’s a fun song nonetheless.

I came across this one by Jerry Pate back in the days I had Limewire. I liked it so I downloaded it onto my MP3 and I’m now going to share it with you.

This last one isn’t for the easily offended. This is a dirty version of the carol but it’s done by one of my all time favourite Country singers, David Allen Coe.

So there you have it, my favourite versions of “The Twelve Days of Christmas.” I hope you enjoy them and before I go, there is another petition for a knighthood for Ozzy. I didn’t start it but you can sign by clicking the link below.

https://www.change.org/p/knight-mr-john-michael-ozzy-osbourne-for-services-to-music

 

17 Responses to “Twelve Days of Christmas”

  1. Thank you so much for your support!! Merry Christmas!! 😀 \m/\m/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The last one is actually John Valby (Dr. Dirty). He reminds me of Mclean & Mclean. Canadian brothers that sang funny, dirty songs in the 70’s and 80’s.

    I just picked up a bunch of David Alan Coe on vinyl. I’m going to check them out on your say.

    The Bob & Doug entire album is awesome.It was my Christmas present 1981, along with AC/DC For Those About To Rock.

    I just saw the re-release of Twisted Christmas on vinyl yesterday and almost grabbed it.

    Thanks for the post. Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bob and Doug! Hosers! Haha awesome, those guys are classic.

    Hope your Christmas was awesome – it cettainly appears it was gonna be well-lubricated!

    Best to you and yours, for these holidays and for a rockin’ 2018!

    \m/ \m/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.